MR. I THE SCIENCE GUY - Find out things you need for Mr. I's Science Class

You will find all you need for your science class here. Use the Tags link to find the posting that are relevant to your class only.

SCIENCE 8 ROCKS! - Find Resources for your class here

We learn about cells, body systems, matter and mixture this year

SCIENCE 7 RULES! - Find Resources for your class here

Post your work for all to see here if you like. Use this website to showcase to your friends and family what you can do.

OPTION DAYS - Participate in Exciting multi-day activities

Activities like hiking, camping, backpacking, canoeing and climbing are typical offerings that I provide during option days. See what's coming this year!

ABOUT ME

Learn a little more about your Teacher Mr. I the Science Guy! Find out about my hobbies and interests

Friday, December 16, 2022

Tuesday, December 13, 2022

Tuesday, November 29, 2022

Cool Science Videos

 Here are the videos from our science lab!


Crushing Pop Can https://photos.app.goo.gl/QQ1iCN41QHp2RMNX7

Exploding Paint Can https://photos.app.goo.gl/HNDvfroZMTMAinEs6

Thursday, November 24, 2022

Monday, November 21, 2022

A cell is like

Thursday, November 17, 2022

Sunday, November 13, 2022

Nov. 15th -16th Sub Links

Physics 20:  To complete the tension questions, here are links to some video tutorials.  Physics is  HARD!  These explanations may not work for you, but give them a look.

Pulling a Mass at an angle on a frictionless surface

2 Hanging masses ex. 1

2 Hanging masses ex. 2

2 Masses, 1 hanging


Science 8:  You will need the cells alive website to answer your questions.

Cells Alive


Science 6:  Here are a few Blookets/Kahoots to help you Review

Sci6 - Flight 

Sci6 - PAT Flight 

Grade 6: Flight Review 2

Grade 6: Flight Review 1



Tuesday, November 8, 2022

Tuesday, November 1, 2022

Wednesday, October 26, 2022

Physics 20: Kinematics Exam

Thursday, October 13, 2022

Science 6 Unit Exam: Air and Aerodynamics

 

Here is some review material.

The first blooket for review.

This is the second, newer blooket.


Someone requested a Monster Brawl, so here it is!


Tuesday, October 11, 2022

Science 7: Week 8 - Ecological Footprint



Ecological Footprint Links!

You can find more about how to reduce your ecological footprint here:

Compare yours to the rest of the World






Thursday, October 6, 2022

Thursday Sub plans

 Here are the videos to watch with the classes.


Science 7





Science 6



Wednesday, October 5, 2022

Science 7: Interaction quiz review

Science 8: Matter Quiz Review

Monday, September 19, 2022

Tuesday Sub Plans

 Science 8

Here is a Blooket you can do on todays topic

Matter & It's Properties


Science 7

Please watch this video

That bird is the piping plover and it is endangered.  Can you think why that is?

Look at the reason why and the other 11 organisms that that endangered.

https://raysweb.net/specialplaces/pages/species.html  


Think you know everything from today?  Try this Blooket and Kahoot

Sci7: Interactions - Needs of Living Things

Introduction & Endangered Organisms


Wednesday, September 14, 2022

Tuesday, September 13, 2022

Science 6 Review

 Hello Class!  Here is the Blooket and Kahoots we did in class.

Kahoot

Science Skills: Experimental Variables Sci6


Blooket

Scientific Method (tower defense)

Scientific Method (Cafe)

Friday, September 9, 2022

Physics 20: Intro Quiz Review

 Here is the Blooket we did

Intro Skills Review


And the Kahoot Questions as well

Kahoot Intro Skills

Friday, June 17, 2022

Tuesday, June 7, 2022

Wednesday, June 1, 2022

Wednesday Sub Plans

CALM

Students have things to work on.  Will and Danika are free to go as they are over 80%, but can still say and improve assignments if they want.

Remind the students they only have a few days left to catch up.  I have sent a few emails out for those that are really far behind.  They should try and catch up so they can pass the class.


Science 7

Here are a Couple of Blookets to Play.

Sci7: Symbiosis, Food Chains, Food Webs & Pyramids

Sci7: biotic/abiotic & succession

After you have played these a few times, have the students find the final review on my website.  They should then spend a few minutes trying either the Kahoot or Quizlet to practice accessing the resources available to them.  The kids should be able to direct you on the style of game to host.


Chemistry 20

Here are a Couple of Blookets to Play.  They have done the first two before, but the last one is new.

Chem20 - VSEPR & Electronegativity

Chem20 - Lewis Diagrams


After you have played these each for approx. 7-10 minutes each, students can work on their own for review.  We will be starting Unit 2 tomorrow.  I have 2 students who are redoing a quiz.  I will text you the access code.  I also have a student who wants to redo a lab.  The lab is setup in the lab.

Science 6

I am not sure who will be here since they decided to run track again at the last minute.  Here are a Couple of Blookets to Play for whoever shows up.

Sci6 - PAT Space

Sci6 - Investigation





Play them for about 7 minutes each.  The PAT ones are better for games like Tower Defense.

Tuesday, May 31, 2022

Tuesday, May 17, 2022

Grade 6 PAT Review

Tuesday, May 10, 2022

Friday, May 6, 2022

Wednesday, April 27, 2022

Thursday Sub Plans

 Chemistry 20

Read over the following Notes on Acids and Bases

Acid Base Notes When done you can work on the Acid/Base intro sheet or your solutions lab.

Science 8

Watch the following 2 videos

Work

Potential & Kinetic Energy (Don't worry about the math portion of the video)

Here is the notes on the topics with a video on perpetual motion

Science 6

Watch the following video on Dichotomous keys and then work on the assignment as a table group.

Science 7

Use the textbooks to answer questions on the second handout.



Tuesday, April 12, 2022

Chem20 Solutions Quiz

Monday, April 4, 2022

Coding Day!

 


Here is the link for todays activity


https://makecode.microbit.org/#

Thursday, March 31, 2022

Chem 20 Gas Laws Exam

 Here are the practice Kahoots we did


Gas Laws

Charles Law

Boyles Law

Monday, March 21, 2022

Science 8 - Light & Optical Systems Exam

Thursday, March 10, 2022

Animal Tracks

Wednesday, March 9, 2022

Geological Time Scale

 Here is a link to a great resource!

Thursday, March 3, 2022

Sub Plans

 


Here is a Kahoot on the Parts of the eye that you can do for practice.


Parts of the Eye

Thursday, February 17, 2022

VSEPR Lab

Wednesday, February 16, 2022

Earthquake links

The simulator game is here.

Here is a link to earthquakes in Alberta

This simulator shows how the Earths crust moves

The richter scale is discussed here.

The types of waves produces are listed here.